Thursday, August 13, 2015

CCDD 081315—Arms of Justice

Cool Card Design of the Day
8/13/2015 - Arms of Justice looks to reprise Gaze of Justice without flashback. It still expresses the idea that multiple creatures are working together to bring a wanted criminal to justice, but in a slightly different way that will sometimes be better and sometimes worse.


14 comments:

  1. This is much better than Prey Upon in most ways except for the tapping.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like this a lot. Could see it being a Sorcery if it tests to be too powerful, but at the moment I wouldn't change a thing

    ReplyDelete
  3. I like the idea, but somehow it reads very horrible. I had to read it 3 times to fully understand it. But i do not have any suggestions of how to do it better.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. An idea: As aditional cost tap any amount of creatures you control. Exile target creature if the power is equel or less the amount of creatures you tapped?

      Delete
    2. A lot weaker, but simpler and still resonant.

      Delete
    3. Or:
      As an additional cost to cast ~, tap any number of untapped creatures you control.
      Exile target creature if its power is equal or less than the total power of creatures you tapped this way.

      Delete
  4. It could also be tweaked to play during combat. Or after combat, if you make it a sorcery.

    "Exile target creature if its power is less than the total power of tapped creatures you control."

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm pretty sure you can't have targets in an additional cost clause

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not a judge so take my answer with a grain of salt.

      I believe it is because of the order that costs and targets are declared to cast a spell as well as ambiguity over what happens if a replacement or state based effect causes the target in the additional cost to become invalid.

      I know that there has never been a card in magic's past that has had a target in its additional cost.

      Delete
    2. Also the fix is fairly easy:

      As an additional cost to cast CARDNAME, tap any number of untapped creatures you control.
      Exile target creature if it's power is less that the total power of each creature tapped this way.

      Delete
    3. ok I asked judge chat and this is what they told me:

      Only an object that can exist on the stack can have a target
      A spell, an activated ability or a triggered ability
      The point of choosing targets is that players may respond to the spell or ability knowing what the targets are, costs don't use the stack and are designed to not be able to be responded to so using a target would create confusion.

      Delete
    4. Interesting. Thanks, Reuben!

      Delete