Thursday, September 14, 2017

CCDD 091417—Invade Mind

Cool Card Design of the Day
9/14/2017 - Continuing from yesterday's theme of black playing cards that don't belong to it, that seems like a perfect thing to pair with discard.


We could add "and spend any color of mana to cast it" but then it would cost more. Honestly, I'd rather see what the player's willing to do to their mana base in order to cast whatever they want from their opponents' deck. (Though I wouldn't be surprised if playtesting showed that has a deleterious effect on decks, and thus the format.)

13 comments:

  1. I saw this and thought, "I could've sworn that existed already." Turns out it nearly does: Psychic Intrusion.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Psychic Intrusion is very similar. This can't grab from the graveyard and doesn't help you cast the card, but is that worth 2U? Invade Mind must be under-costed. It does net you two cards.

      Delete
    2. Definitely undercosted by at least 2, c.f. Night Terrors, Distress, Castigate, Lay Bare the Heart

      Delete
    3. Yeah. {3}{B} sounds much closer.

      Delete
    4. {1}{B}{R}
      For the version where you only have until your next turn to cast it.

      Delete
    5. It could probably stay cheap as long as it's the opponent's choice on what they discard

      1B
      Sorcery (U)
      Target opponent exiles a card from their hand. You may play that card as long as it remains exiled.

      I think it's interesting that the 'you steal' rider actively dissuades the opponent from discarding a land.

      Delete
    6. Strictly better Psychic Intrusion time?

      Steal the Best 3BB
      Sorcery (R)
      Target opponent reveals his or her hand. Choose a nonland card and that player discards it. Then choose a nonland card from that player's graveyard and exile it. You may cast it as long as it remains exiled.

      Delete
  2. Mind Slip UB
    Sorcery
    Target player reveals their hand. Exile a nonland card from it. You may cast that card for as long as it remains exiled. That player draws a card.

    Also, edge-case useful to cast on yourself if you need to slip an important & expensive combo piece away from discard.

    ReplyDelete
  3. How much better or worse is this stapled onto a creature?

    Thought Stealer 3B
    Creature - Horror
    When CARDNAME enters the battlefield, target opponent reveals his or her hand. Choose a nonland card from it and exile it until CARDNAME leaves the battlefield. You may cast that card for as long as it remains exiled and you may spend mana as though it were mana of any color to cast it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You may cast that card for as long as Thought Stealer is on the battlefield

      Delete