Thursday, October 26, 2017

CCDD 102617—Wreathe in Flame

Cool Card Design of the Day
10/26/2017 - Trying out some aura-on-the-stack tech.



14 comments:

  1. When ~ is put into your graveyard from the battelfield or the stack?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. How did they only produce a single aura with split second during Time Spiral?

      Delete
    2. Wreath in Flame
      2RR
      Enchantment - Aura - Uncommon
      Enchanted creature gains double strike.
      Exile ~ from your graveyard: Deal 4 damage to target creature or player. Activate this ability only if you cast a spell named Wreath in Flame this turn.

      Delete
    3. "The stack" is even worse than "resolves" as a game term that should be kept off cards.

      Delete
    4. "When ~ goes to your graveyard, if you cast a spell named ~ this turn, it deals 4 damage to target c/p."

      Delete
    5. "When a creature targeted or enchanted by ~ dies..."

      Delete
  2. Hm. Maybe friendly auras should have a keyword that says they don't target or allow them to retarget if their target is lost.

    I think the wiring here is quite good but not quite there. I want to make it more obvious to players start happens. Maybe even "when enchanted creature dies or creature this is targeting dies" spelling it out twice or something?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm sure WotC has considered this and decided not to for a good reason, but Auras would be less risky if they didn't target when you cast them. They already attach to something of your choice when they ETB without being cast (rule 303.4f), it's just be a matter of making that the default way of attaching auras.

      One reason they might not want this is that it'd work around shroud and hexproof.

      (This change wouldn't help with the card in the main post, but it's still interesting to me.)

      Delete
    2. A global rules change is appropriate. This one makes auras target differently than sorceries and instants, but equipment works differently too, so maybe that's merited.

      Delete
  3. Internal Flame 1R
    Enchantment - Aura (C)
    Enchant creature card on the battlefield or in the graveyard
    Enchanted creature has +2/+0.
    1R, Exile enchanted card from your graveyard: Deal 2 damage to target creature or planeswalker.

    I think that works, right? Or maybe changing zones always loses the target.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, changing zones loses the target.

      Delete
  4. Flavor text: "I AM THE DWEAD PIWATE WOBBERTS!"

    ReplyDelete