Thursday, August 16, 2018

CCDD 081618—Claim Dinner

Cool Card Design of the Day
This Prey Upon variant came top-down from the art. It's essentially a spell version of Polukranos, World Eater's monstrosity trigger, but using a very different template.

This execution doesn't let you wrath as unconditionally. It does have the strange feature that it increases your spells-cast count by one more than it should. Anyhow, I like how it really rewards having a big creature by letting you kill as much as you can afford.

18 comments:

  1. I think copied spells actually don't count toward spells-cast counts, so you should be fine there.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Pondering other ways to execute the same idea with less copying shenanigans:

    Knife and Fork
    1G
    Enchantment - Aura - Uncommon
    Enchant creature
    0: Enchanted creature fights target creature you don’t control. At the beginning of your end step, sacrifice Knife and Fork. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Or:

      Claim Dinner
      1G
      Sorcery
      Target creature you control gains “0: This creature fights target creature you don’t control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.” until end of turn.

      Delete
    2. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    3. Just

      Claim Dinner
      G
      Sorcery
      Target creature you control gains “1: As long as it is on the battlefield, this creature fights target creature you don’t control.” until end of turn.

      Works too right?

      Delete
    4. If my templating doesn't cut it, we just use Polukranos', right?

      Delete
  3. Don't think I'm following Wobbles' template there.

    Polukranos' wording is slightly different than the proposed effect here, but probably not enough that confusing wording is worth it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is excellent. Prey Upon and friends have the problem that they're usually just worse than an unconditional removal spell. Claim Dinner solves that problem by promising oodles of card (and tempo) advantage if the fights are lopsided enough.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like the template too. The reminder text may be slightly misleading, though. If your creature dies in the process of resolving copy N, I believe copy N+1 won't even be put on the stack. It won't have a legal set of targets.

      Delete
    2. Damage can't destroy a creature mid-spell, because dying to damage is a state-based effect.

      Delete
    3. Oh, OK. Thanks for the correction!

      Delete
    4. I *thought* that you *could* copy a spell with illegal targets, but that fight specifically didn't have any effect unless it was between two creatures.

      But I'm really not sure -- I would rather avoid this rules-hooping for players and either spell out what should happen like Pulkronous or make them separate activations. Even "copy any number of times" might be better, not sure.

      Delete
  5. With an indestructible creature is it a one sided board wipe

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. With one as large as all your opponents' creatures, yup.

      Delete
    2. I think even a 1/1 would do it? For example if my opponent has a Grizzly Bear and a Goblin Piker I use the first Claim Dinner on the Grizzly Bear, then it asks for a new target, and I choose the Goblin Piker. Then the copy of the copy doesn't know Grizzly Bear was a target, so I get to target Grizzly Bear again.

      I think that's how it works as currently worded.

      Delete
    3. As soon as the first copy resolves, your 1/1 has lethal damage and dies. The copy targeting the Goblin Piker fizzles and you don't make a third copy.

      Delete